Young Carer

A young carer is someone aged 18 or under who helps look after a relative who has a condition, such as a disability, illness, mental health condition, or a drug or alcohol problem. Most young carers look after one of their parents or care for a brother or sister.

I never thought I would do this to them, my little sister and 2 little brothers, although there’s nothing little about them anymore. They’re growing up faster than they should have but there’s nothing anyone can do to change that. All I can do is try my best to get better, I owe it to them and to myself. 

They’re being referred to a young carers service and I’m happy and relieved they’ll be getting the right support. Things are going to start looking up soon, I’m going to make it happen. 

It’s just one foot in front of another. 

Liam 🙂

Leave a Reply

