Gratitude

Today was my birthday and I think it’s safe to say it was a bit of a disaster. I think I put a lot of pressure on myself to have a good day when actually mental illnesses don’t take breaks just because it’s exactly 17 years since you were born. It in fact doesn’t give a shit. Today was a bad mental health day, and would have been whether it was my birthday or not. I was very overwhelmed with things going on around me in life, and faced a big trigger at college today that was entirely unrelated to my birthday, so this day was going to happen. I want to focus on the parts of today I am grateful for.

  • Having my family wake me up to sing happy birthday
  • My cat Misty enjoying the wrapping paper made me feel happy
  • All the presents from my friends
  • The tutor who always makes me smile gave me a hug and said happy birthday
  • When I was struggling I found a long message someone sent me and it just warmed my heart it was so lovely
  • I have survived 17 years and got through my worst battles
  • I got made a cup of tea by staff to help me cheer up and calm down
  • I came home to a freshly made bed with my new bedsheets 
  • My dad came over straight after getting off an airplane
  • I had a good day


I’ll see you tomorrow.

Liam 🙂

Leave a Reply

