Physical and Mental Health

It’s no mystery that physical health and mental health are linked. There are endless scholarly articles and health websites that back this, one of them being the mental health foundation. This is what they say about the relation between physical and mental health…

“A clear distinction is often made between ‘€˜mind’€™ and ‘€˜body’™. But when considering mental health and physical health, the two should not be thought of as separate.

Poor physical health can lead to an increased risk of developing mental health problems. Similarly, poor mental health can negatively impact on physical health, leading to an increased risk of some conditions.” 
-The Mental Health Foundation

This article goes on to talk about the effect mental illness can have on physical health and the links between long term health conditions and mental illness.

My physical health is suffering at the moment, and I think the main cause is my mental illnesses. 

I get shaky and dizzy often because I don’t feel hunger due to dissociation. I’m not aware of my body wanting food because I’m so out of touch and it’s a really big problem that means my body is exhausted and not getting fuelled.

I have constant bad back pain which is probably stress related because of my anxiety. When I discussed this with my psychologist we agreed the reason for the pain probably wasn’t physical and could be dissociation. I now need to figure out what to do about it.

My body is very unfit so I pull muscles easily and frequently. I hold back from exercising because I obsess over that type of thing and I worry I’ll slip back into ED behaviours. Also opportunities like the gym are usually too challenging because of anxiety.

Physical health issues that are normal like infections are ignored because going to the GP seems like more self care than I deserve, despite me knowing that absolutely isnt true because everyone deserves care, including me!

I want to take action. I want to do something about this so I can feel healthy. In my recovery journal I’m going to list the issues I’ve got and the changes I will be making. I struggle hugely with looking after myself and this is the type of self care I am striving towards. Both my mental AND physical health are my priority.

I will post about this again at a future date.

Liam 🙂

Leave a Reply

